It Came From Mill Street

Change of plans, folks.

So I’ve been scouring the city and so far I’ve found seventeen pumpkin beers, plus a few others that could be classified as “spooky”. I’ll keep looking, but I don’t think I’m going to find many more without going on a road trip. (I’m not going on a road trip. I’ve already spent way too much money on this project.) If you find more that are available in Metro Vancouver or the Victoria area, let me know.

So pumpkin beer reviews are going to be limited to the weekdays. On the weekends, I’ll substitute some other Halloween- or autumn-themed fun. Suggestions welcomed in the comments.

On with the review!

Nightmare on Mill Street

mill street bottle

Brewed by Mill Street Brewery (Toronto, Ontario)

Ingredients: “a blend of five malts, six spices, unmalted wheat, pure vanilla extract and pumpkin in the mash”, according to the website

This one comes courtesy of my friend Kyle, who was good enough to drive me to five different liquor stores in search of squashy goodness. I’m also joined on this one by my roommates Belle and Frank.

Belle is Australian and had never had pumpkin beer before, so we had fun explaining the concept to her.

Frank: It tastes kind of like pumpkin pie.

Belle: …I’ve never had pumpkin pie, either. What’s it like?

Frank: Um. Pie made from…pumpkins.

Me: Sweet. Spicy?

Kyle: Good!

And that’s how we accidentally sort of recreated a scene from He Died With a Felafel In His Hand.

The Mill Street was a hit among this group. It’s quite similar to the Red Racer, though I’d say not as good. More cloves and less ginger, heavier carbonation but still not much head. No hops, which made it less bitter but also less interesting. It tasted even less beery than the RR, which could be an advantage for some but was a loss of appeal for me. I’m also not keen on wheat, which takes away from the malt.

mill street pint

It does have the advantage of coming in regular bottles as opposed to most of the beers for this project, which are largely bottled in bombers. You apparently have to buy it as a mixed pack with the Oktoberfest beer, so if you’ve got someone in your life who prefers something more traditional, you can split it with them.

Tomorrow: something completely (sort of) different.

Leave a Reply

