C’est La Grande Citrouille, Charlie Brown!

  The grocery store near my house is selling the biggest goddamn pumpkins I have ever seen. In honour of this I bring you:

St. Ambroise Citrouille: the Great Pumpkin Ale

Brewed by: MacAuslan Brewing (Montreal, Quebec)

The McAuslan website did not get along with my browser, so I couldn’t bring up more info on this one. C’est la vie.

The photobomber in the corner is an empty salsa jar. Merde.

If there’s a downside to this project, it’s that sometimes – just sometimes – I end up with way more beer than I really want to drink. La Grand Citrouille, fortunately, comes in standard bottles, and I even found a store that was selling them as singles.

The colour is a lovely dark copper, but not much head – the carbonation is dense but small. As far as taste goes, the spice profile is more ginger and nutmeg than cinnamon; the hops are light and just enough to keep it interesting. This one is also quite pumpkin-y and almost fruity, with basically no aftertaste, and isn’t as sweet as some of the others.

Solid all around, but not a standout – a good pumpkin, but maybe not a great one.

Leave a Reply

